Healthy hobby = Healthy mind

“Even if it’s just fifteen minutes in the water, I always feel so much better.”

University is a big part of this young mans life, and is where most of his attention and time lies -However there is much more to his personality than media and journalism…
Adam is an eighteen-year-old first year student whose spare time is spent in the ocean. Whether he goes swimming or surfing or simply just lays on the beach soaking up the sun, this is the place where he feels the most fulfilment.

“I look up to people like Kelly slator… He is so talented in so many different ways, not only surfing”

One of Adam's surfing, and life inspirations - Kelly Slator. ( Image:http://www.carmelmagazine.com/old/images/archive/fa08/kelly-slater-1.jpg )

One of Adam’s surfing, and life inspirations – Kelly Slator. Image: http://www.carmelmagazine.com/old/images/archive/fa08/kelly-slater-1.jpg

Everyday Adam juggles with the stress of university, assignments, work and having a social life – yet never sacrifices the sea. “It clears my mind and allows me to reflect… it’s just so much fun… Without surfing I wouldn’t have the valued friendships I do now.”
Having a hobby which is outside of media and journalism can be beneficial to the mind and soul and allows for a sense of variety, which keeps boredom at bay.
By Adam having a hobby that is outside of work and university allows him to better manage his time – a valuable trait that will stay with him for life. “I always make sure I have time to go for a surf, or even a walk along the beach… it not only keeps me active and healthy, but it keeps me happy”
Daniel Branch, an online blogger clarifies this notion by stating that having a hobby “improves your quality of life.”
Adam says , “I would love to eventually pursue some type of sports journalism and I think surfing in particular would be perfect!” Gillian Kelly, a career expert clarifies this concept of pursuing a hobby relative to your career, “The hobbies that you do decide to include on your resume should be relevant to your career or the job that you’re applying for”. Not only is surfing a fun and relaxing hobby for Adam, it is also relatable to what his studying at university and thus his career.
In an article written by Brianna Everett, she emphasizes the importance of having a hobby and how it benefits your career “It’s about recharging, effectiveness and time management. My philosophy is, and it’s a bit corny, but our body is the vessel that holds who we are, so make sure you look after your vessel.”

When Adam was asked how he balances his love for surfing as well as his studies and work, he says he surfs at least 2-3 times per week. If he has uni in the afternoon he will surf in the morning and vice versa if he has uni of a morning. “Weekends are a good time for me to catch up on assessments … so my reward is to go surfing.” Sometimes this routine doesn’t stick each week due to different circumstances.

“ when I’m angry, ill just surf. When I’m feeling lazy ill go for surf. When I need to get out of the house I head straight for the beach”.

Leave a Reply

